top of page
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

"Blubbering Mess"

The Whale - 2023 - Darren Aronofsky


Well what can I say about this film? Give Brendon Fraser the Oscar!


I went to go see this film in the cinema with my wife for Valentines day.... (I know big mistake). We both really wanted to see this film especially after all the hype.


Well what can I say except for how much I truly love this film.


The full ensemble of this film were so captivating and life like, every situation that was being explored with full depth of emotion pulled me in further to this beautiful yet heart breaking film. Brendon Fraser (The Mummy), Sadie Sink (Stranger Things), Hong Chau (The Menu), Ty Simpkins (Jurassic World) and Samantha Morton (Minority Report) all deserved the standing ovation it received at Cannes Film Fest.


The film is based of a play, which the whole while I was watching this masterpiece (Unknowingly) was thinking at how outstanding this would be on West End.


Aronofsky is up their as one of my favourite directors with films such as Mother (2010), Requiem for a Dream (2000) and The Wrestler (2008). He really highlights the faults within mankind and explores exception life stories either realistic or Avant garde style.


I will not give any of the story away as each segment of the story pays off for the next part (like a puzzle) until you explore the full and soul destroying truth.


Honesty Here:

I obviously did cry in the cinema (If you don't are you human?), but when we left i was utterly speechless and had to sit in the car and cry just through the sheer beauty of this film.


10/10 🍿

Hopefully the next film I review wont be as sad


Comments


bottom of page